Brahmananda Swami Sivayogi (August 26, 1852 – September 10, 1929) was a sanyasi from Kerala, India who founded the Ananda Maha Sabha and Anandamatham (religion of bliss). An atheist, he denounced idol worship and religions. He propounded the theory that ananda(happiness or bliss) should be the touchstone of any human activity. The movement he spearheaded played an important role in the renaissance of Kerala society.

Brahmananda  Sivayogi was born as Govindan Kutty on August 26, 1852. He was born into an aristocratic Nair family. His parents were Nani Amma of Karat Nair family and Kunjikrishna Menon of Vellengi Ravanyaram. His birthplace was Nenmara in the Palaghat district of Kerala. As per the custom that was prevalent in the state, Govindan Kutty was staying with his mother Nani Amma and his father used to make occasional visits to him. In the formative years of his life, he was brought up in the orthodox way. In the early morning, he used to take the bath and visit the worship chamber in the house for prayers. As a child, Govindan Kutty was totally ignorant about the activities undertaken by him at his home. He was merely following the instructions given by the elders in the family.

After gaining appropriate knowledge in Sanskrit language, Brahmananda Sivayogi decided to disseminate that knowledge gained to young men in his locality. In this role, he continued for a while. Later, he joined in a Kozhikode-based Native School as a Sanskrit teacher. While working in Kozhikode, he could interact with learned persons who had similar views. During this period, a branch of Brahma Samaj was established in Kozhikode. The learned members of the Samaj gave him the title of Brahmananda Swami after they learned about his stack of knowledge in Philosophy, Logics and Sanskrit language. In the premises of this organization, Govindan Kutty began to practice Rajayoga.

Vagbhatananda was the famous disciple of Brahmananda Sivayogi. He was also known as Swami Of Alathur.

Books by Sivayogi


  • Sivayoga Rahasyam – 1895
  • Sthri Vidya Poshini – 1899
  • Sidhanubhuthi – 1903
  • Mokshapradeepam – 1905
  • Anandakalpadrumam – 1905
  • Ananda Suthram – 1910
  • Rajayoga Parasyam – 1916
  • Vigraharadhana Khandanam – 1916
  • Ananda Vimanam – 1916
  • Anandamatha Paraysyam – 1919
  • Anandakkummi – 1920
  • Ananda Ganam – 1923
  • Anandadarsam – 1927
  • Anandadarsam – 1928




Leave a Reply