Gandhi Peace Prize


The International Gandhi Peace Prize, named after Mahatma Gandhi, is awarded annually by the Government of India.

As a tribute to the ideals espoused by Gandhi, the Government of India launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th birth anniversary of Mohandas Gandhi. This is an annual award given to individuals and institutions for their contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods. The award carries ₹ 1 Crore (10 million) in cash, convertible in any currency in the world, a plaque and a citation. It is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, creed or sex.

List of International Gandhi Peace Prize Winners (1995-2014)



1. Name: Julius Nyerere
Year: 1995
Country: Tanzania


2. Name: A. T. Ariyaratne
Year: 1996
Country: Sri Lanka


3. Name: Gerhard Fischer
Year: 1997
Country: Germany


4. Name: Ramakrishna Mission
Year: 1998
Country: India


5. Name: Baba Amte
Year: 1999
Country: India


6. Name: Nelson Mandela
Year: 2000
Country: South Africa


7. Name: Grameen Bank
Year: 2001
Country: Bangladesh


8. Name: Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan
Year: 2002
Country: India


9. Name: Vaclav Havel
Year: 2003
Country: Czech Republic


10. Name: Coretta Scott King
Year: 2004
Country: United States


11. Name: Desmond Tutu
Year: 2005
Country: South Africa


12. Name: Chandi Prasad Bhatt
Year: 2013
Country: India


13. Name: ISRO
Year: 2014
Country: India