Right Livelihood Award



The Right Livelihood Award is an  international award to “honour and support those offering practical and exemplary answers to the most urgent challenges facing us today.” The prize was established in 1980 by German-Swedish philanthropist Jakob von Uexkull, and is presented annually in early December. An international jury, invited by the five regular Right Livelihood Award board members, decides the awards in such fields as environmental protection, human rights, sustainable development, health, education, and peace. The prize money is shared among the winners, usually numbering four, and is EUR 200,000. Very often one of the four laureates receives an honorary award, which means that the other three share the prize money.

Although it is promoted as an “Alternative Nobel Prize”, it is not a Nobel prize (i.e., a prize created by Alfred Nobel). It does not have any organizational ties to the awarding institutions of the Nobel Prize or the Nobel Foundation.


Right Livelihood Award is sometimes popularly associated with the Nobel prizes; the Right Livelihood Award committee arranged for awards to be made in the Riksdag of Sweden the day before the Nobel prizes and the economics prize are also awarded in Stockholm, and the awards are understood as a critique of the traditional Nobel prizes.

  1. Hermann Scheer (Germany) received right Livelihood Award in 1999 for-

Answer: His indefatigable work for the promotion of solar energy worldwide

2. The Kvinna Till Kvinna foundation (Sweden) was award Right Livelihood Award in 2002 for –

Answer: it’s remarkable successes in healing the wounds of ethnic hatred and war, by helping women, often the prime victims.

3. …………………….. is also referred as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’
1.UNESCO Peace Prize
2.The Right Livelihood Award
3.Ramon Magsaysay Award
4.UN Human Rights Award

Answer – 2.The Right Livelihood Award

Leave a Reply