The All India Home Rule League was a national political organisation founded in April 1916 to lead the national demand for self-government, termed Home Rule, and to obtain the status of a Dominion within the British Empire as enjoyed by Australia, Canada, South Africa, New Zealand and Newfoundland at the time.

     Between 1916 and 1918, prominent Indians like Joseph Baptista, Muhammad Ali Jinnah, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, G. S. Khaparde,Sir S. Subramania Iyer and the leader of the Theosophical Society, Annie Besant, decided to organise a national alliance of leagues across India, specifically to demand Home Rule, or self-government within the British Empire for all of India. Annie besant founded first league at madras then after this Tilak founded the second League in the city of poona (now Pune), Maharashtra. With the League’s national headquarters in Delhi, the main cities of activity were Bombay (now Mumbai), Calcutta (now Kolkata) and Madras (Chennai).

            In 1920, the All India Home Rule League elected Mahatma Gandhi as its President. In a year, the body would merge into the Indian National Congress to form a united Indian political front.

Leave a Reply