The Indian Rebellion of 1857 refers to a rebellion in India against the rule of the British East India Company, that ran from May 1857 to July 1859. The rebellion began as a mutiny of Sepoy of the East India Company’s army on 10 May 1857, in the cantonment of the town of Meerut, and soon escalated into other mutinies and civilian rebellions largely in the upper Gangetic plain and central India, with the major hostilities confined to present-day UttarPradesh, northern MadhyaPradesh, and the Delhi region. The rebellion posed a considerable threat to East India Company power in that region, and was contained only with the fall of Gwalior on 20 June 1858. The rebellion has been known by many names, including the Indian Mutiny, India’s First War of Independence, the Great Rebellion, the Indian Rebellion, the Revolt of 1857, the Rebellion of 1857, the Uprising of 1857, the Sepoy Rebellion, the Indian Insurrection and the Sepoy Mutiny.

            Other regions of Company-controlled India, such as the Bengal division of Bengal Presidency (comprising present-dayBangladesh, West Bengal, Odisha, Bihar, and Jharkhand), the Bombay Presidency, and the Madras Presidency, remained largely calm.In Punjab, the Sikh princes backed the Company by providing soldiers and support.The large princely states of Hyderabad, Mysore, Travancore, and Kashmir, as well as the smaller ones of Rajputana, did not join the rebellion. In some regions, such as Oudh, the rebellion took on the attributes of a patriotic revolt against European presence. Some rebel leaders, such as Lakshmibai, the Rani of Jhansi, became folk heroes in the nationalist movement in India half a century later.

  The rebellion led to the dissolution of the East India Company in 1858. It also led the British to reorganise the army, the financial system and the administration in India.The country was thereafter directly governed by the crown as the new British Raj.

Date 10 May 1857 – 8 July 1859
(2 years, 2 months and 1 week)
Location India
Result British victory

  • Suppression of the revolt
  • End of the Mughal and Maratha Empires
  • End of Company rule in India
  • Transfer of rule to the British Crown
British Indian Empire created out of former East India Company territory (some land returned to native rulers, other land confiscated by the British crown)




Leave a Reply