The Swaraj PartySwarajya Party or Swarajya Party, established as the Congress-Khilafat Swaraj Party, was a political party formed in India in January 1923 after the Gaya annual conference in December 1922 of the National Congress, that sought greater self-government and political freedom for the Indian people from the British Raj. It was inspired by the concept of Swaraj. In Hindi and many other languages of India, swaraj means “independence” or “self-rule.” The main leaders were Motilal Nehru and C.R. Das, among others.

         Motilal Nehru and Chittaranjan Das thought of contesting elections to enter the legislative council with a view to obstructing a foreign government. Many candidates of the Swaraj Party got elected to the central legislative assembly and provincial legislative council in the 1923 elections. In these legislatures they strongly opposed the unjust government policies.

       The establishment of fully responsible government for India, the convening of a round table conference to resolve the problems of Indians, and the releasing of certain political prisoners, were the resolutions in the central legislative council.

Leave a Reply